Inductees named for Nashville Songwriters’ Hall of Fame


The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame announced five new inductees on Tuesday.

Ronnie Dunn, K.T. Oslin, Byron Hill, Wayne Kirkpatrick and Joe Melson will be added to the Hall of Fame in October.

They have written songs for artist including George Strait, Eric Clapton and Little Big Town.

“The thing that he said that really struck me, he said, you know, out of the thousands of songwriters in all of Nashville, you are going to be one of the 200 or so that’ll be in the Hall of Fame and that really kind of put it in perspective for me. It was a pretty surreal moment,” said Kirkpatrick about learning that he would be joining the Hall of Fame.

“Songwriting is such an innate part of what we do. You almost need therapy to quit. It may be a good field for some psychiatrist to get into,” said Dunn. “I’d come home from the road and my wife would say now turn it off, fall into place, take the trash out, play with the kids. But I swear, there’s always some tape or song or idea that you’re working with, fishing for in the back of your head.”

The induction ceremony will be held on Oct. 28 at the Music City Center.

Copyright 2018 WSMV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.


Multimedia Producer

Recommended for you