Tennessee GOP committee votes to remove 8 primary candidates - WSMV News 4

Tennessee GOP committee votes to remove 8 primary candidates

Posted: Updated:
(WSMV file photo) (WSMV file photo)

The Tennessee Republican Party's executive committee has decided to remove seven GOP candidates for U.S. Senate and one in the governor's race from the August primary election ballot.

Media outlets report the committee ruled Saturday the candidates lacked voting credentials to run as Republicans according to party bylaws.

State Republican Party rules require candidates to be active members and vote in three of four statewide GOP primaries in the counties where they live.

The Senate candidates are David Anderson, Rashard Lamar Coker, Larry Crim, Tommy Hay, Theresa Honeycutt, J. Darrell Lynn and Ronaldo Toyos. The gubernatorial candidate is Eddie Murphy.

In a statement Saturday, Republican Party chairman Scot Golden says the GOP wants "to ensure that the candidates seeking our nomination are active and invested in the Republican Party in Tennessee."

Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.