WSMV News 4

Usain Bolt, Justin Gatlin advance to 100m final

Posted: Updated:

Usain Bolt and Justin Gatlin both won their semifinal heats, setting up a much-anticipated showdown in tonight’s 100m final.

Bolt clocked 9.86 seconds, his fastest time in 2016. Only Gatlin and fellow U.S. sprinter Trayvon Bromell have run faster this year. 

2004 Olympic 100m champion Gatlin ran 9.94 seconds. His season’s best is 9.80 seconds. 

Bolt, the fastest man of all time, is attempting to become the first man to win three consecutive Olympic gold medals. He has never lost in an Olympic final.

The 100m final will be held tonight at 9:25 p.m. ET. Watch LIVE online.

Field for the 100m final (semifinal time):

Usain Bolt (9.86 seconds)

Andre De Grasse (9.92 seconds)

Justin Gatlin (9.94 seconds)

Jimmy Vicaut (9.95 seconds)

Ben Youssef Meite (9.97 seconds)

Akani Simbine (9.98 seconds)

Yohan Blake (10.01 seconds)

Trayvon Bromell (10.01 seconds)

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.