Funk wins Davidson D.A. race, Soloman unseated as judge - WSMV News 4

Decision 2014

Funk wins Davidson D.A. race, Soloman unseated as judge

Posted: Updated:

Daron Hall will remain Davidson County sheriff, and Glenn Funk will become the next district attorney general in Davidson County following primary elections held Tuesday.

Circuit Court Judge Carol Soloman was unseated in the Division 8 Democratic primary. Kelvin Jones received 40 percent of the votes, while Jon Peeler received 32 percent and Soloman received 30 percent with 100 percent of precincts reporting.

Jones will be unopposed in August.

District Attorney candidate Glenn Funk has received 46 percent of the vote to win the Davidson County District Attorney race over Rob McGuire and Diane Lance.

McGuire issued a statement about 9:10 p.m. conceding defeat to Funk.

"I want to congratulate Glenn on his victory in the Democratic primary for District Attorney. I pledge that I will assist him in any way I can to fight violent crime and do justice in our community," said McGuire in a prepared statement. "I am, of course, disappointed in the election result but I want to express my profound gratitude to my supporters, especially those who volunteered long hours for my campaign. I remain committed to advocating for victims and their families and I will seek to continue to serve the public."

McGuire received 36 percent of the vote with 100 percent of precincts reporting.

Funk, who will not face opposition in August, will replace Torry Johnson, who announced he would not seek re-election after serving as district attorney for 27 years.

Sheriff Daron Hall received 80 percent of the vote with 100 percent of the totals against primary challenger Kenny Hardy in his quest for a third term.

In General Sessions Judge Division IX, Lynda Jones defeated Sheryl Guinn in a six-person field and will now face Republican Adam Dread in August.

Two open General Sessions Judge seats had close races.

In the Division II race, Melissa Blackburn defeated Jim McNamara and Mark Podis with 31 percent of the totals.

Blackburn will face Republican Marian Cheadle Fordyce in the August General Election.

In the Division IV race, Allegra Walker defeated Vince Wyatt with 52 percent of the vote. Walker will be unopposed in August.

In the Criminal Court Division I race, incumbent Steve Dozier defeated Joy Smith Kimbrough with 51 percent of the vote. The winner of this race is unopposed.

Sheila D.J. Calloway unseated Juvenile Court Judge Sophia Brown with nearly 63 percent of the vote.

The winner of the juvenile court judge race is unopposed in the general election.

Copyright 2014 WSMV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.