Amp citizens advisory panel members named - WSMV Channel 4

Amp citizens advisory panel members named

Posted: Updated:

The members of the Amp citizens advisory committee were announced Wednesday, and they are set to meet for the first time later this month.

The mayor's office said in a press release Wednesday the members come from a variety of constituencies impacted by the proposed rapid bus transit project, including people with disabilities, the aging population and large employers.

Among those appointed were Lee Beaman, one of the project's most outspoken opponents, who owns a block of downtown property that would be along the planned bus line.

Others on the panel include Vanderbilt Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs Beth Fortune, attorney Dianne Neal and west Nashville resident Bert Mathews, of The Mathews Company and Colliers International, who will chair the group.

The members were appointed by Mayor Karl Dean, members of the Metro Council, and state legislators, including House Speaker Beth Harwell, R-Nashville.

Last week, Dean said that after more than 120 public meetings, it's clear the Amp has passionate opponents, so the citizens committee was designed to make recommendations on the Amp project to city and state leaders.

"The type of transit project we have proposed is a big change. And some of the concerns that have been raised are very legitimate," he said in a news conference April 1.

Among the changes he mentioned, two sections of the rapid-transit corridor will likely be re-engineered, which would reduce the amount of dedicated bus lanes from 80 percent of the project to about 50-55 percent.

The section between I-440 and White Bridge Road, instead of having dedicated bus lanes in the middle of West End Avenue, could instead have what Dean calls "Bus Rapid Transit Lite," or rapid transit without dedicated lanes.

The other change affects a section closer to downtown from I-40 to the Broadway/West End split. That area would do away with dedicated bus lanes altogether, and the buses would travel with mixed traffic.

The citizens advisory committee will first meet at the downtown library branch April 29, and then again on the last Tuesday of every month.

Members of the Amp Citizens Advisory Committee include:

•    CHAIR: Bert Mathews, The Mathews Company and Colliers International, and west Nashville resident
•    Tina Banks, General Manager, Mapco Store 1033 on Main St. in east Nashville
•    Joe Barker, MarketStreet Enterprises and developer in the Gulch
•    Lee Beaman, Beaman Automotive
•    Arnett Bodenhamer, Retired Command Sergeant Major of the U.S. Army and north Nashville business owner (Arnett & Associates)
•    Drake Calton, Retired Financial Advisor and resident of Richland neighborhood
•    Laura Denison, Registered Nurse, Alive Hospice and Hillsboro/West End resident
•    Beth Fortune, Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs, Vanderbilt University
•    Richard Fulton, Colliers International and west Nashville resident
•    Tricia Griggs, Senior Disability Rights Advocate, Disability Law & Advocacy Center
•    Barrett Hobbs, Cumberland Hospitality Group and Lower Broadway business owner
•    Coralee Holloway, Director of Community Programs, Tennessee Housing Development Agency and east Nashville resident
•    Mina Johnson, Community Volunteer and west Nashville resident
•    Lewis Lavine, President, Center for Nonprofit Management and chair of the MTA Board Amp Committee
•    Cliff Lippard, Public Policy Researcher/Deputy Executive Director, Tennessee Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, State of Tennessee; Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education at Peabody College, Vanderbilt University; and member of Transit Now
•    Dianne Neal, Attorney; Instructor of Law; and west Nashville resident
•    David Plummer, Architect, Centric Architecture and Hillsboro/West End resident
•    Mike Schatzlein, President and CEO, St. Thomas Health
•    Ralph Schulz, President and CEO, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce
•    Alan Sparkman, Executive Director, Tennessee Concrete Association and AARP advocate
•    Patricia Totty, north Nashville resident
•    Mary Vavra, Landscape Architect and Planner, Lose & Associates and east Nashville resident
•    Chris Veit, Senior Designer, H2U-Health to You and Sylvan Park resident
•    Ben Vos, Mental Health Counselor and east Nashville resident

Copyright 2014 WSMV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.