Battle Academy named 2013 Magnet School of Excellence - WSMV Channel 4

Battle Academy, CCA named 2013 Magnet Schools of Excellence

Posted: Updated:

CHATTANOOGA (WRCB) - Battle Academy for Teaching and Learning, located in the heart of Chattanooga's Southside,  has been named a 2013 Magnet School of Excellence by Magnet Schools of America (MSA), the National Association for Magnet and Theme-Based Schools.  The school was established in 2002, and has an enrollment of 471 students.  The principal is Saunya Goss, and the assistant principal is Shaen Callaway.  In partnership with UTC, Battle is also home to the UTC Children's Center, an early childhood program serving ages 6 weeks through pre-kindergarten.  Battle Academy is named for Reverend H.H. Battle, who pastored First Baptist Church on East 8th Street for over 40 years and also served for 19 years on the Chattanooga Board of Education.  The Center for Creative Arts High School has also won the award for 2013.  That school's principal is Deborah Smith.

Battle Academy leaders describe the K-5 school as "a diverse learning community seeking to develop each child's full potential."  Principal Goss said, "Battle focuses on identifying and teaching to each child's individual talents and strengths, based on Dr. Howard Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences. The school is founded on the belief that each type of intelligence has importance in a child's life and can lead to greater learning. The magnet school is a multi-faceted educational facility focused on individual learning styles and strengths that brings urban and suburban children, families and faculty together to form a diverse, innovative learning community."

"Magnet schools throughout the country are being awarded for their excellence in demonstrating student achievement, innovative and engaging instruction and curriculum, community engagement, professional development, and a commitment to diversity. This is a competitive process that awards only a small fraction of the magnet schools nationally. Schools that win our Merit Awards represent the best in education, innovation, equity and opportunity for all students in our nation." says Magnet Schools of America Executive Director, Scott Thomas.  The school previously won the award in 2006.

To receive a merit award MSA member schools must submit a detailed application that is scored by a panel of educators. There are two categories of merit awards: (1) Magnet Schools of Excellence, the top award given to a group of select magnet schools, and (2) Magnet Schools of Distinction, the second highest award of recognition. The top scoring magnet schools in the excellence category are eligible to receive monetary awards including $1,000 for the New & Emerging Magnet School Award and $5,000 for the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, considered the top award for magnet schools in the nation.

Principals Goss and Smith will receive the merit award plaques during an awards ceremony at the 31st National Conference on Magnet Schools in Tulsa, Oklahoma in May.  To learn more about Magnet Schools of America's merit awards program, please visit

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.