TN Sports Hall of Fame announces 11 inductees - WSMV News 4

TN Sports Hall of Fame announces 11 inductees

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE, TN., Oct. 2, 2012 --- The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame announced today the names of eleven inductees to be enshrined at its annual Induction Banquet on Saturday, May 4, 2013, at the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville.

This year's inductees include Rick Byrd, basketball coach at Belmont University; Penny Hardaway, University of Memphis and NBA basketball star; Leonard Hamilton, former UT-Martin athlete and current basketball coach at Florida State University, Kelly Holcomb, NFL football player and  Middle Tennessee State University star;  Chris Jones, basketball standout and coach at Carson-Newman College; Larry Seivers, All-America wide receiver at the University of Tennessee; Trey Teague, outstanding center at the University of Tennessee and Denver Broncos and Frank Wychek, All-pro tight end for the Tennessee Titans.  In addition, former Vanderbilt basketball star and Nashville community leader John Ed Miller will be the Hall's Lifetime Achievement inductee.  Also to be inducted posthumous will be longtime radio and TV announcer Bob Bell and standout Morristown athlete and later coach Ermal Allen.

The Sports Hall of Fame, which held its first induction banquet in 1966, has as its goal to enshrine successful teams and individuals who display sportsmanship, good character and success, creating a legacy for others to follow. The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Museum is housed the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

The Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of Tennessee's sports heritage while honoring the contributions of legendary individuals and teams that have significant ties to the state.  Through this mission we recognize the positive attributes of our inductees such as hard work, team work, dedication, focus and how these attributes are needed to achieve success in life.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WSMV; Nashville, TN. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.